Clearing Our Path

Creating accessible environments ­for people with vision loss

Skip to content

Text resize: AAAA

Change contrast: AA

Français

Section Menu

About

Home > About

About

CNIB cafeteria
CNIB cafeteria

CNIB is committed to advocating for universal environments for people with vision loss. Equal rights for all Canadians regardless of disability are enshrined in the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms and echoed in the UN Charter on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities. Governments, both in Canada and around the world, are passing groundbreaking disability rights legislation. Additionally, we are reaching new levels of societal awareness. We believe that public services and spaces that aren’t accessible to people with disabilities cannot accurately be described as “public.”

Architectural design should incorporate elements that facilitate the safe use of a space or independent travel. There are many uncomplicated, inexpensive solutions that consider people with vision loss and their needs, and which in fact benefit all users. These solutions can not only make a space universally accessible, but can also enhance it aesthetically, since buildings that apply universal design principles can also be beautiful. Implementing these solutions mainly requires the application of simple techniques to make information about an environment available in an accessible way. To read more about the seven principles behind universal design, please visit the University of North Carolina’s Center for Universal Design.

The design recommendations presented in this resource focus primarily on the needs of people with vision loss, including those who are deafblind. While some technical requirements also address various design needs of people with other disabilities, it’s important to note that “Clearing Our Path” is not intended as a resource to comprehensively address the accessibility needs of all people with disabilities.

It’s also important to note that individual provinces and municipalities may have legislation or bylaws which address some of the same technical requirements presented within this resource. Where such legislation exists, architects and other designers are encouraged to choose the design requirements that maximize accessibility for people with vision loss, but never less than the legislated requirements of the local authorities.

Éliminons les barrières architecturales

Créer des environnements accessibles pour les personnes ayant une perte de vision

Aller au contenu

Corps des caractères : AAAA

Modifier le contraste : AA

English

Menu de section

En bref

Accueil > En bref

En bref

Cafétéria du Centre INCA de Toronto

INCA entend être le défenseur des environnements totalement accessibles pour les personnes vivant avec une perte de vision. L’égalité des droits pour tous les Canadiens, ayant ou non une incapacité, est garantie par la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés et va dans le sens de la Convention des Nations Unies relative aux droits des personnes handicapées. Au Canada comme ailleurs dans le monde, les gouvernements adoptent des lois novatrices sur les droits des personnes handicapées. Nous atteignons en outre des niveaux inédits de sensibilisation sociale. Nous croyons que les services et les espaces publics qui ne sont pas accessibles aux personnes vivant avec une incapacité ne peuvent être qualifiés de « publics ».

La conception architecturale doit comprendre des éléments qui facilitent l’utilisation sécuritaire d'un espace ou les déplacements autonomes. Nombreuses sont les solutions simples et non coûteuses qui tiennent compte des besoins des personnes vivant avec une perte de vision et qui, en vérité, profitent à tous les utilisateurs. Ces solutions peuvent non seulement rendre les espaces accessibles à tous, elles peuvent aussi contribuer à les embellir, car l’intégration des principes de design universel peut se traduire par des immeubles très esthétiques. La mise en œuvre de ces solutions exige surtout l’application de techniques simples afin que l’information sur un environnement donné devienne disponible d’une façon accessible. Pour en savoir davantage sur les sept principes sous-tendant le design universel, visitez le site University of North Carolina’s Center for Universal Design (en anglais seulement).

Les recommandations formulées dans le présent document sont axées avant tout sur les besoins des personnes vivant avec une perte de vision, y compris des personnes sourdes-aveugles. Même si certaines exigences techniques couvrent les besoins des personnes ayant d’autres incapacités, il importe de souligner qu’« Éliminons les barrières architecturales » ne se veut pas une ressource exhaustive sur les besoins en accessibilité de toutes les personnes handicapées.

Il y a également lieu de signaler que certaines provinces et municipalités peuvent avoir adopté des lois ou des règlements portant sur les mêmes critères techniques que ceux qui sont présentés dans le document. Si tel est le cas, les architectes et les autres concepteurs sont encouragés à choisir les critères qui maximisent l’accessibilité pour les personnes vivant avec une perte de vision, sans jamais toutefois appliquer des critères inférieurs à ceux adoptés par les autorités locales.