Skip to content Français +/- Site options

Clearing Our Path

Section Menu

Blindness Basics

You're Invited!

CNIB, with partial funding from Accessibility Standards Canada would like to invite you to provide input into these guidelines. A 2 day virtual summit will be hosted in February of 2022 at which point, CNIB will be asking for comments on the guidelines found here.

** Please note, the site will be updated as content becomes available.

Home > Blindness Basics

Blindness Basics

Understanding the needs of people impacted by blindness

Canada is facing a blindness crisis. Half a million Canadians live with significant blindness that impacts their quality of life – a figure that’s poised to increase significantly over the next 25 years as the country’s population ages.

Men with canes crossing at a cross walk
Men with canes crossing at a cross walk

Currently, nearly 14% of Canadians are 65 or older – a figure that will double in the next 25 years. 5.5 million Canadians have one of the four major vision eye diseases – age-related macular degeneration (AMD), diabetic retinopathy, glaucoma and cataracts – and are at serious risk of losing their vision in the future. Higher prevalence of obesity and diabetes also places more Canadians at risk of developing blindness in the future.

With this significant increase in Canadians whose lives will be impacted by blindness, the need to ensure the highest level of accessibility to the built environment has never been stronger. In order for people impacted by blindness to lead full and independent lives as contributing members of society, facilities are required which enable safe navigation throughout neighbourhoods and public places, such as shopping centres and community buildings.

In this section:

Aller au contenu +/-  Options d'affichage

Éliminons les barrières architecturales

Menu de section

Notions de base sur la cécité

Accueil > Notions de base sur la cécité

Notions de base sur la cécité

Comprendre les besoins des personnes touchées par la cécité

Le Canada fait face à une crise en matière de la cécité. Le pays compte un demi-million de personnes touchées par la cécité importante qui réduit leur qualité de vie, et verra ce chiffre augmenter de beaucoup dans les 25 prochaines années avec le vieillissement de sa population.

Hommes munis d'une canne blanche traversant un passage pour piétons.

La proportion de Canadiens âgés de 65 ans ou plus, qui frÔle actuellement 14 %, doublera d’ici 25 ans. L’une des quatre principales maladies oculaires altérant la vision – dégénérescence maculaire liée à l’âge (DMLA), rétinopathie diabétique, glaucome et cataractes – a déjà été diagnostiquée chez 5,5 millions de Canadiens et leur fait courir un sérieux risque de la cécité plus tard dans leur vie. La prévalence accrue d’obésité et de diabète signifie aussi que plus de Canadiens pourraient subir la cécité dans les années à venir.

Devant cette forte hausse du nombre de Canadiens qui devront composer avec la cécité, le besoin d’assurer le plus haut niveau possible d’accessibilité de l’environnement bâti n’a jamais été si grand. Pour que les personnes touchées par la cécité puissent mener une vie autonome et bien remplie en tant que membres à part entière de la société, il faut des installations qui leur permettent de se déplacer en toute sécurité dans leurs quartiers et dans les lieux publics, tels que les centres commerciaux et les édifices communautaires.

Dans cette section :