Clearing Our Path

Creating accessible environments ­for people with vision loss

Skip to content

Text resize: AAAA

Change contrast: AA

Français

Section Menu

Vision Loss Basics

Home > Vision Loss Basics > Wayfinding

Wayfinding

Whereas mobility is getting from one destination to another, wayfinding uses cognitive and perceptual information to reach a destination. Wayfinding also involves orientation, the process by which people with vision loss determine where they are in a space at any given moment.

Wayfinding design involves organizing the built environment to provide useful information for wayfinding. Environments that include universal design principles in wayfinding take into account all the human senses (not just sight) and all modes of travel (not just walking) in both the design and maintenance of an indoor or outdoor space.

People who cannot rely entirely upon sight for wayfinding often use a combination of other strategies:

The following design features are basic elements of wayfinding used by people with vision loss. They are described in detail throughout the Design Needs section.

Any combination of these design elements may be used in wayfinding depending on a person’s level of vision, the level of training they have received to help them walk with the long cane, prior knowledge of a space or their needs at any given time.

Aller au contenu English +/- Options d'affichage

Éliminons les barrières architecturales

Menu de section

Notions de base sur la cécité

Accueil > Notions de base sur la cécité > Repérage du chemin d'accès

Repérage du chemin d'accès

La mobilité est le déplacement d’une destination à une autre, alors que le repérage du chemin d’accès est l’utilisation de l’information cognitive et perceptive pour atteindre une destination. Le repérage du chemin d’accès fait aussi intervenir l’orientation, soit le processus par lequel des personnes touchées par la cécité déterminent où elles sont dans un espace à n’importe quel moment.

Le design facilitant le repérage du chemin d’accès suppose un environnement bâti organisé de manière à fournir de l’information qui aide les utilisateurs à trouver leur chemin. Dans les environnements qui intègrent les principes de design universel pour l’orientation, tous les sens (pas seulement la vue) et tous les modes de déplacement (pas seulement la marche) sont pris en compte tant dans la conception que dans l’entretien d’un espace intérieur ou extérieur.

Les personnes qui ne peuvent trouver leur chemin uniquement avec la vue utilisent souvent une combinaison d’autres stratégies.

Les caractéristiques de design ci-dessous sont des éléments de base du repérage du chemin d’accès pour les personnes touchées par la cécité. Elles sont couvertes en détail dans la section Exigences générales de design.

Toute combinaison de ces éléments de design peut permettre à une personne de repérer son chemin d’accès, selon son degré de vision, son niveau de formation sur la marche avec la longue canne, sa connaissance antérieure d’un espace ou ses besoins du moment.