Skip to content Français +/- Site options

Clearing Our Path

Section Menu

Design Needs

Design Basics

Exteriors and Interiors

Exterior Design Elements

Interior Design Elements

You're Invited!

CNIB, with partial funding from Accessibility Standards Canada would like to invite you to provide input into these guidelines. A 2 day virtual summit will be hosted in February of 2022 at which point, CNIB will be asking for comments on the guidelines found here.

** Please note, the site will be updated as content becomes available.

Home > Design Needs > Design Basics

Design Basics

Designers should consider four fundamental elements when creating built environments to meet the needs of people impacted by blindness: layout, lighting, colour/brightness contrast, and acoustics.

This section introduces the benefits and potential pitfalls of various planning strategies, as well as the importance of design consistency. Lighting types, styles and placement are reviewed along with concepts for using lighting as a means to support wayfinding and orientation. Colour and brightness contrast is introduced as a critical concept in making environments safer and more usable for everyone, which has a significant impact on many elements within a built environment. The section concludes with the importance of acoustics for individuals with blindness, and how the acoustic environment impacts usability.

The technical requirements within this section are derived from a number of sources including the National Building Code of Canada, CAN/CSA B651 Accessible design for the built environment, ISO/FDIS 21542 Building Construction - Accessibility and usability of the built environment and ISO 23599 - Assistive products for blind and vision-impaired persons - Tactile walking surface indicators. Please refer to these documents for more complete technical requirements.

In this section:

Éliminons les barrières architecturales

Créer des environnements accessibles pour les personnes ayant une perte de vision

Aller au contenu

Corps des caractères : AAAA

Modifier le contraste : AA

English

Menu de section

Exigences générales de design

Principes de base du design

Éléments de design communs - extérieur et intérieur

Éléments de design extérieur

Éléments de design intérieur

Accueil > Exigences générales de design > Principes de base du design

Principes de base du design

Pour créer des environnements bâtis qui répondent aux besoins des personnes vivant avec une perte de vision, les designers doivent prendre en compte quatre éléments fondamentaux : disposition des lieux, éclairage, contraste de couleur ou de luminosité et acoustique.

Cette section décrit d’abord les avantages et les éventuels pièges de diverses stratégies de planification, et l’importance d’un design uniforme. Elle couvre les types et les modes d’éclairage, l’emplacement des sources d’éclairage et l’utilisation de l’éclairage pour aider au repérage du chemin d’accès et à l’orientation. Le contraste de couleur et de luminosité est présenté comme un concept essentiel pour rendre les environnements plus sécuritaires et plus utilisables pour tous, ce qui a des répercussions majeures sur bon nombre d’éléments dans un environnement bâti. Enfin, la section explique en quoi l’acoustique est importante pour les personnes vivant avec une perte de vision, et en quoi l’environnement acoustique influe sur la facilité d’utilisation.

Les exigences techniques énoncées dans cette section sont extraites de plusieurs sources, dont le Code national du bâtiment - Canada,CAN/CSA B651 – Conception accessible pour l’environnement bâti, ISO/FDIS 21542 : Construction immobilière – Accessibilité et facilité d’utilisation de l’environnement bâti et ISO 23599 : Produits d’assistance pour personnes aveugles ou visuellement affaiblies – Indicateurs tactiles de surfaces de marche. Veuillez consulter ces documents pour obtenir des spécifications techniques plus complètes.

Dans cette section :