Clearing Our Path

Creating accessible environments ­for people with vision loss

Skip to content

Text resize: AAAA

Change contrast: AA

Français

Section Menu

Design Needs

Design Basics

Exteriors and Interiors

Exterior Design Elements

Interior Design Elements

Information Kiosks

Some spaces have stand-alone interactive information centres, also known as information kiosks. Such centres or kiosks may consist of a video display unit with a touch screen, tactile keypad and auditory information. It’s important to note that providing visual information alone is not enough!

Information kiosks are more helpful when they are accessible. The first step is making sure that someone with vision loss can determine the location of the kiosk. More information on audible signs is provided in the Signage section. Further information cn be found in the section on guidance TWSIs.

The next step is making sure the kiosk itself is fully accessible to all users once they have found it.

If using touch-screen systems for user input, keyboard or keypad input should be available. Kiosks should also provide speech output.

Incorporate software packages that can magnify text on information kiosk screens from two to 16 times. Make sure users are able to adjust the colour contrast between the text and the background. This will help users with limited vision to see the screen. Locate monitors so that users can position themselves within a few centimetres of the screen, if necessary.

Additional information on information kiosks can be found in the Canadian Standards Association’s “Accessible Design for Self-Service Interactive Devices” document, CAN/CSA-B651.2-07. It’s available through the ShopCSA website.

Éliminons les barrières architecturales

Créer des environnements accessibles pour les personnes ayant une perte de vision

Aller au contenu

Corps des caractères : AAAA

Modifier le contraste : AA

English

Menu de section

Exigences générales de design

Principes de base du design

Éléments de design communs - extérieur et intérieur

Éléments de design extérieur

Éléments de design intérieur

Guichets d’information

Des centres d’information interactifs libre-service, aussi appelés guichets d’information, sont installés dans certains espaces. Il peut s’agir de terminaux d’affichage vidéo à écran tactile, à clavier tactile et à dispositif sonore. Il est important de noter qu’une information uniquement visuelle ne suffit pas!

Les guichets d’information sont plus utiles lorsqu’ils sont accessibles. La première étape consiste à s’assurer qu’une personne vivant avec une perte de vision peut en déterminer l’emplacement. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez les sections Dispositifs de signalisation sonore et Indicateurs tactiles de guidage au sol.

L’étape suivante est de faire en sorte que le guichet en tant que tel soit entièrement accessible à tous les utilisateurs qui l’ont repéré.

Si des systèmes à écran tactile tiennent lieu d’entrée utilisateur, ils doivent être munis d’un clavier ou d’un pavé numérique. Les guichets doivent aussi offrir une sortie vocale.

Les guichets d’information doivent comprendre des progiciels pouvant grossir de 2 à 16 fois le texte affiché à l’écran, de même qu’un mécanisme permettant de régler le contraste de couleur entre le texte et le fond d’écran. Les utilisateurs ayant une vision partielle pourront ainsi lire plus facilement ce qui apparaît à l’écran. Les moniteurs doivent être placés de manière à ce que les utilisateurs puissent se tenir à quelques centimètres de l’écran, au besoin.

Le document de l’Association canadienne de normalisation intitulé « CAN/CSA-B651.2-F07 (C2012) – Conception accessible des dispositifs interactifs libre-service » fournit plus de renseignements sur les guichets d’information. Il est offert sur le site Web Produits CSA.