Clearing Our Path

Creating accessible environments ­for people with vision loss

Skip to content

Text resize: AAAA

Change contrast: AA


Section Menu

Design Needs

Design Basics

Exteriors and Interiors

Exterior Design Elements

Interior Design Elements

Sidewalks and Bike Lanes

A lot of useful information can be integrated into a sidewalk’s infrastructure. Wayfinding cues can be incorporated into the surface to assist pedestrians, including directional changes, nodes to indicate decision-making areas, entrances to key facilities and buildings, sidewalk/road boundaries and more.

Information can be communicated through the use of textural and/or colour changes in the sidewalk’s infrastructure. In some cases, information such as street names is being integrated into sidewalks that approach intersections. Nodes can indicate to pedestrians that multiple routes of travel are in the area.

Wherever possible, bike lanes should be located on the road to discourage cyclists from using sidewalks. Wider dedicated cycling lanes that are well demarcated will further increase the likelihood of their use. Protected bike lanes (i.e., where the bike lane is separated from traffic by vertical posts, medians or a well-marked buffer zone) are not only more likely to be used but also more visible to pedestrians.

Further information on multi-use pathways is provided in the section Multi-Use Trails.

Éliminons les barrières architecturales

Créer des environnements accessibles pour les personnes ayant une perte de vision

Aller au contenu

Corps des caractères : AAAA

Modifier le contraste : AA

English

Menu de section

Exigences générales de design

Principes de base du design

Éléments de design communs - extérieur et intérieur

Éléments de design extérieur

Éléments de design intérieur

Trottoirs et pistes cyclables

Il est possible d’intégrer de nombreux renseignements utiles à l’infrastructure d’un trottoir. Des indices facilitant le repérage du chemin d’accès pour les piétons peuvent s’incorporer à la surface, notamment des changements de direction, des nœuds désignant des zones de prise de décision, les entrées principales d’installations et d’édifices, les limites de trottoirs ou de routes, etc.

L’information peut être communiquée par des changements de texture ou de couleur dans l’infrastructure du trottoir. Dans certains cas, l’information comme les noms de rue est intégrée aux trottoirs à l’approche des intersections. Des nœuds peuvent indiquer aux piétons qu’il y a plusieurs voies de déplacement dans la zone.

Autant que possible, les pistes cyclables doivent être situées sur la route afin d’inciter les cyclistes à ne pas utiliser les trottoirs. Elles auront plus de chances d’être empruntées si elles consistent en bandes plus larges réservées aux vélos et bien délimitées. Les pistes cyclables protégées (c.-à-d., séparées de la circulation routière par des poteaux, des terre-pleins ou une zone tampon bien définie) sont non seulement plus susceptibles d’être utilisées, mais sont aussi plus visibles pour les piétons.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la section Sentiers polyvalents.