Clearing Our Path

Creating accessible environments ­for people with vision loss

Skip to content

Text resize: AAAA

Change contrast: AA

Français

Section Menu

Design Needs

Design Basics

Exteriors and Interiors

Exterior Design Elements

Interior Design Elements

Home > Design Needs > Exterior Design Elements > Building Entrances

Building Entrances

Entrances to public buildings must be easy for people to identify. A variety of elements can be used to help people with vision loss quickly identify an exterior entrance:

Signs: The building’s name and address should appear on an exterior sign that includes visual and raised print and braille. The sign should comply with the design requirements for signage. For larger buildings, large signs should be incorporated into the landscaping leading to the main entrance. Because of their distance from paths of travel, these signs do not require raised print or braille.

Emerging technology is available which allows people with vision loss to read signs from afar using their smartphone, which receives information via Bluetooth from a beacon installed on or near the sign.

If some entrance doors to a building are not accessible, there should be signage at all doors indicating where an accessible entrance is located.

Door frames: All door frames should be colour contrasted to the walls or surfaces around them.

Landmarks: Planters and columns can draw attention to the main entrance. Plants can be positioned to guide the direction of travel towards the entrance.

Recessed entrances: A recessed entrance is easier for a long cane user to detect. It can also create an acoustically different space, making the entrance easier to locate for people with vision loss.

Change in surface texture: The approach to a building entrance can be marked with a different ground surface. For example, interlocking stone can intersect with a concrete sidewalk to mark the place to make a 90-degree turn to reach the entrance. The interlocking stone should be detectable with a cane and underfoot.

Audible cues: Audible signs (discussed in Signage) and other audible cues, such as music, can be used to draw attention to a building’s entrance.

Where there is a row of doors to individual businesses that blend with the surrounding wall along a building line, it’s important to clearly identify each door. For example, use colour-contrasting doors, doormats outside each door, or a textured and colour-contrasted walking surface leading up to each door. Signage that incorporates visual and tactile information should also be provided at each door.

Aller au contenu English +/- Options d'affichage

Éliminons les barrières architecturales

Menu de section

Exigences générales de design

Principes de base du design

Éléments de design communs - extérieur et intérieur

Éléments de design extérieur

éléments de design intérieur

Entrées des édifices

Les entrées des édifices publics doivent être faciles à repérer. Divers éléments peuvent aider les personnes touchées par la cécité à trouver rapidement une entrée extérieure.

Panneaux indicateurs : Le nom et l’adresse de l’édifice doivent être affichés à l’extérieur sur un panneau indicateur à contenu visuel, imprimé en relief et braille. Le panneau indicateur doit être conforme aux exigences de design pour la Signalisation. Pour les grands édifices, des enseignes plus volumineuses doivent être intégrées à l’aménagement paysager jouxtant l’entrée principale. Étant donné leur distance des voies de déplacement, les caractères imprimés en relief et braille ne sont pas requis sur ces enseignes.

Grâce à de nouvelles technologies, les personnes touchées par la cécité peuvent lire des panneaux indicateurs éloignés au moyen de leur téléphone intelligent, lequel reçoit l’information par Bluetooth depuis une balise installée sur le dessus ou à proximité du panneau indicateur.

Si certaines portes d’entrée d’un édifice ne sont pas accessibles, une signalisation doit indiquer, à toutes les portes, l’emplacement d’une entrée accessible.

Cadres de portes : Tous les cadres de portes doivent être de couleur contrastante par rapport aux murs ou aux surfaces qui les entourent.

Points de repère : Des plantes et des colonnes peuvent attirer l’attention vers l’entrée principale. La position des plantes peut être un moyen d’indiquer le sens de déplacement vers l’entrée.

Entrées en retrait : Une entrée en retrait se repère mieux avec une longue canne. Le retrait peut aussi conférer une acoustique différente, ce qui rend l’entrée plus facile à repérer pour les personnes touchées par la cécité.

Changements texturaux dans la surface : Les abords de l’entrée d’un édifice peuvent être marqués par une surface de sol différente. Ce pourrait par exemple être une section en pavés à emboîtement (« pavé uni ») qui croise un trottoir de béton à 90 degrés pour indiquer un virage dans le chemin d’accès vers l’entrée. Les pavés à emboîtement doivent être détectables avec une canne et sous les pieds.

Repères sonores : Des dispositifs de signalisation sonore (traités dans la section Signalisation et d’autres repères sonores, comme de la musique, peuvent servir à attirer l’attention vers l’entrée d’un édifice.

Lorsque les portes menant à plusieurs entreprises sont en rangée le long d’une ligne de construction et se confondent avec le mur périphérique, il est important que chacune soit clairement désignée, par exemple, par une couleur et un paillasson extérieur contrastants pour chacune, ou par un contraste de couleur et de texture pour la surface de marche conduisant à chacune. Une signalisation à contenu visuel et tactile doit aussi être fournie à chaque porte.