Skip to content Français +/- Site options

Clearing Our Path

Section Menu

Design Needs

Design Basics

Exteriors and Interiors

Exterior Design Elements

Interior Design Elements

You're Invited!

CNIB, with partial funding from Accessibility Standards Canada would like to invite you to provide input into these guidelines. A 2 day virtual summit will be hosted in February of 2022 at which point, CNIB will be asking for comments on the guidelines found here.

** Please note, the site will be updated as content becomes available.

Home > Design Needs > Interior Design Elements

Interior Design Elements

This section provides details for design elements that are commonly found in interior environments.

Design requirements for accessible interior paths of travel are covered, including corridors, hallways, escalators, moving walkways and elevators. Design considerations for entrance lobbies, doors, interior glazing systems, service counters, kiosks, queuing and public telephones are also included.

The section concludes by exploring the specific needs of people impacted by blindness in specific types of facilities, including theatres, lecture halls, dining spaces, kitchens, washrooms, change rooms, pools, gyms, libraries and exhibition spaces.

Note that further information on elements that are common to both exterior and interior environments is provided in Exteriors and Interiors.

The technical requirements within this section are derived from a number of sources including the National Building Code of Canada, CAN/CSA B651 Accessible design for the built environment, ISO/FDIS 21542 Building Construction – Accessibility and usability of the built environment and ISO 23599 – Assistive products for blind and vision-impaired persons – Tactile walking surface indicators. Please refer to these documents for more complete technical requirements.

In this section:

Éliminons les barrières architecturales

Créer des environnements accessibles pour les personnes ayant une perte de vision

Aller au contenu

Corps des caractères : AAAA

Modifier le contraste : AA

English

Menu de section

Exigences générales de design

Principes de base du design

Éléments de design communs - extérieur et intérieur

Éléments de design extérieur

Éléments de design intérieur

Accueil > Exigences générales de design > Éléments de design intérieur

Éléments de design intérieur

La présente section traite en détail d’éléments de design que l’on retrouve couramment dans des environnements intérieurs.

Elle couvre les exigences de design en matière d’accessibilité des voies de déplacement intérieures, telles que les couloirs, les passages, les escaliers mécaniques, les trottoirs mécaniques et les ascenseurs. Elle décrit aussi les considérations de design pour les entrées et vestibules, les portes, les systèmes de vitrage intérieur, les comptoirs de services, les guichets, les files d’attente et les téléphones publics.

La section se conclut par une étude des besoins particuliers des personnes vivant avec une perte de vision dont il faut tenir compte dans certains types d’installations, soit les cinémas et théâtres, les salles de conférences, les salles à manger, les cuisines, les salles de bain, les vestiaires, les piscines, les gymnases, les bibliothèques et les espaces d’exposition.

Veuillez noter que la section Élements de design communs contient plus d’information sur des éléments communs à des environnements extérieurs et intérieurs.

Les exigences techniques énoncées dans cette section sont extraites de plusieurs sources, dont le Code national du bâtiment - Canada, CAN/CSA B651 – Conception accessible pour l’environnement bâti, ISO/FDIS 21542 : Construction immobilière – Accessibilité et facilité d’utilisation de l’environnement bâti et ISO 23599 : Produits d’assistance pour personnes aveugles ou visuellement affaiblies – Indicateurs tactiles de surfaces de marche. Veuillez consulter ces documents pour obtenir des spécifications techniques plus complètes.

Dans cette section :