Skip to content Français +/- Site options

Clearing Our Path

Section Menu

Emergency & Safety

New Clearing Our Path Initiative!

CNIB is undertaking a study to identify solutions on shared infrastructure. Specifically, we are undertaking a study of bike lanes at public transit stops across Canada. A request for proposal can be found by clicking here...

Home > Emergency Exits and Safety

Emergency Exits and Safety

Provincial and national building and fire codes don’t fully respond to the needs of people impacted by blindness in terms of emergency systems for the built environment. In general, they don’t address how to effectively alert people who are Deafblind to an emergency situation or how to safely assist people impacted by blindness out of a building in an emergency. This section discusses both of these concerns.

Tactile Walking Surface Indicator.
A close-up photograph of a detectable warning surface. The surface incorporate truncated domes to provide tactile warning information and is colour-contrasted with the adjacent ground finish to provide visual warning.

Keep in mind that building design and construction are only part of the answer in terms of meeting the needs of people impacted by blindness in emergency planning. Staff training programs and maintenance schedules also play a critical role.

Further information on elements that are common to both exterior and interior environments is provided in Exteriors and Interiors.

The technical requirements within this section are derived from a number of sources including the National Building Code of Canada, CAN/CSA B651 Accessible design for the built environment, ISO/FDIS 21542 Building Construction – Accessibility and usability of the built environment and ISO 23599 – Assistive products for blind and vision-impaired persons – Tactile walking surface indicators. Please refer to these documents for more complete technical requirements.

In this section:

Éliminons les barrières architecturales

Créer des environnements accessibles pour les personnes ayant une perte de vision

Aller au contenu

Corps des caractères : AAAA

Modifier le contraste : AA

English

Menu de section

Situations d'urgence et sécurité

Accueil > Situations d'urgence et sécurité

Situations d'urgence et sécurité

Les codes provinciaux et nationaux du bâtiment et de prévention des incendies ne répondent pas entièrement aux besoins des personnes vivant avec une perte de vision sous l’angle des systèmes d’urgence pour l’environnement bâti. Ils sont habituellement muets sur la façon d’avertir efficacement les personnes sourdes-aveugles d’une situation d’urgence ou sur la façon sécuritaire d’aider les personnes vivant avec une perte de vision à évacuer un immeuble en cas d’urgence. La présente section porte sur ces deux sujets.

Gros plan sur une surface de marche avec indicateurs tactiles de surface de marche. La surface permet un avertissement tactile en incorporant des dômes tronqués et un avertissement visuel en offrant un bon contraste couleur avec le sol environnant.

Il ne faut pas oublier que la conception et la construction des immeubles ne sont que deux des éléments à considérer dans la planification des mesures d’urgence pour tenir compte des besoins des personnes vivant avec une perte de vision. La formation du personnel et les programmes d’entretien jouent également un rôle essentiel.

La section Élements de design communs offre d’autres renseignements sur les éléments communs aux espaces extérieurs et intérieurs.

Les exigences techniques énoncées dans cette section sont extraites de plusieurs sources, dont le Code national du bâtiment - Canada,CAN/CSA B651 – Conception accessible pour l’environnement bâti, ISO/FDIS 21542 : Construction immobilière – Accessibilité et facilité d’utilisation de l’environnement bâti et ISO 23599 : Produits d’assistance pour personnes aveugles ou visuellement affaiblies – Indicateurs tactiles de surfaces de marche. Veuillez consulter ces documents pour obtenir des spécifications techniques plus complètes.

Dans cette section: