Clearing Our Path

Creating accessible environments ­for people with vision loss

Skip to content

Text resize: AAAA

Change contrast: AA

Français

Section Menu

Emergency & Safety

Home > Emergency & Safety > Emergency Lighting

Emergency Lighting

People with some types of vision loss have difficulty adapting to sudden changes in light levels. In some cases, it may take a few hours for a person with vision loss to adjust to a dramatic change in lighting. For this reason, the level of illumination provided by emergency lights should ideally match the usual light levels in the building.

Emergency lighting is meant to be a temporary light source and is not intended to illuminate entire areas. However, where emergency lighting is essential to provide a visual cue leading towards an exit or area of safe refuge, then the normal illumination levels for that space should be maintained during an emergency situation.

An added benefit to providing a level of emergency lighting that exceeds the minimum building code requirement of 10 lux (average at floor or tread level) is that it has the potential to increase visibility in smoke-filled areas.

Avoid directing light towards the direction of travel. Glare or light directed at pedestrians can cause problems for some people with vision loss.

Use photo-luminescent strips along baseboards and stairs to lead people to emergency exits. This lighting is also recommended to highlight features such as door frames and telephones in areas of safe refuge.

Aller au contenu English +/- Options d'affichage

Éliminons les barrières architecturales

Menu de section

Situations d'urgence et sécurité

Accueil > Situations d'urgence et sécurité > Éclairage d’urgence

Éclairage d’urgence

Les personnes vivant avec certains types de perte de vision ont de la difficulté à s’adapter aux changements soudains des niveaux d’éclairage. Il leur faut parfois quelques heures pour s’adapter à un changement important. C’est pourquoi le niveau d’éclairement fourni par l’éclairage d’urgence doit idéalement correspondre au niveau d’éclairage habituel dans l’immeuble.

L’éclairage d’urgence est une source de lumière temporaire. Il ne vise pas à éclairer des zones entières. Toutefois, lorsque l’éclairage d’urgence est essentiel pour donner un repère visuel menant vers une sortie ou une zone de refuge, les niveaux d’éclairement normaux pour cette zone doivent être maintenus pendant la situation d’urgence.

L’éclairage d’urgence qui dépasse l’exigence minimale du code du bâtiment (10 lux, soit la moyenne au niveau du sol ou des marches d’escalier) présente l’avantage supplémentaire d’accroître la visibilité dans les zones enfumées.

Il faut éviter de diriger la lumière vers le parcours à suivre. La lumière dirigée vers les piétons peut éblouir certaines personnes touchées par la cécité.

Des bandes photoluminescentes doivent être appliquées le long des plinthes et des escaliers pour diriger les personnes vers les sorties de secours. Cet éclairage est également recommandé pour faire ressortir les cadres de porte et les appareils téléphoniques, par exemple, dans les zones de refuge.